Used to shoe bullocks in bullock teams.
One of the great successes of Explore the Outback over the years
has been the relocation of the original bullocky wagon road. This
old wagon road was abandoned as a main thoroughfare by 1891 but
when in use it was the only route into the interiors.
The bullocky road was used by cattle, horse, donkey and camel teams
but it was the bullocky teams that first pioneered the route.
Today the bullocky road is all but gone but evidence of its original
line can be found in the form of historic "litter" which
includes glass and of course, discarded or lost bullock cues, (reference).
<< Return to Photos page
Bullock cue lying on old Bullocky Road - the original Oodnadatta
Track and Stuart Highway
Photo - Philip Gee